England – Local Restriction Tiers: What you need to know


Local Restriction Tiers – What you need to know

From Wednesday 2 December, there will be local restriction tier system put in place.

The government have now replaced the national lockdown with a regionally differentiated approach, where different tiers of restrictions apply in different parts of the country.

These tiers will be strengthened compared to the previous tiers in order to prevent a return to growing infections. The Government’s approach is to target the toughest measures only in the areas where the virus is most prevalent or where they are seeing sharper increases in the rate of infection.

There are 3 tiers for local restrictions:

Tier 1: Medium alert

Tier 2: High alert

Tier 3: Very High alert

See: https://www.gov.uk/guidance/local-restriction-tiers-what-you-need-to-know?utm_source=5be0c9ef-14cd-4114-9f88-a7b34d04ed8b&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=govuk-notifications&utm_content=immediate


The government’s plan for managing COVID-19 through the end of 2020 and into the start of 2021 was released 23 November.

It outlines:

  • A route back to normality
  • Controlling the virus
  • Protecting the NHS and the vulnerable
  • Keeping education and the economy going

See: https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/937529/COVID-19_Winter_Plan.pdf

Sign up to our newsletter here to receive more content like this to your mailbox.

Share This

Copy Link to Clipboard